SMS short code
An SMS short code is a 5 or 6 digit number a business leases for high-volume texting. The U.S. Short Code Registry leases a random code for $500 a month and a vanity code for $1,000, paid up front for 3, 6 or 12 months, read September 28, 2026. Most providers add fees on top.
Reader supported. We may earn a commission when you sign up through a link on this page, and it never changes a score. How we make money.
What each provider charges for a short code
| Provider | Setup | Monthly code charge | First-year code subtotal | Terms and pricing evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. Short Code Registry, the lease itself administered by CTIA | Lease only | $500 $1,000 | $6,000Registry lease only $12,000Registry lease only | administered by CTIA. Leased for 3, 6 or 12 months; the whole lease is paid before the code is activated; fees are non-refundable. The registry says carrier approval after the lease can take two to four weeks. administered by CTIA. Leased for 3, 6 or 12 months; the whole lease is paid before the code is activated; fees are non-refundable. The registry says carrier approval after the lease can take two to four weeks. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Provider setup charges; Provider or plan charges; Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes. Excluded: Provider setup charges; Provider or plan charges; Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes.
|
| Plivo $1,000 a month minimum (Enterprise plan) | $1,500 | $500 $1,000 | $7,500Published code charges only $13,500Published code charges only | Rental deducted quarterly in advance. Approval 6 to 8 weeks. Throughput 100 messages a second. Short codes sit on Plivo's Enterprise plan. Enterprise Starts at $1,000 per month. Rental deducted quarterly in advance. Approval 6 to 8 weeks. Throughput 100 messages a second. Short codes sit on Plivo's Enterprise plan. Enterprise Starts at $1,000 per month. Required plan charges excluded. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Required plan charges. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Required plan charges.
|
| Telnyx | $500 | from $1,000 $2,000 Source-price conflict; subtotal withheld. | from $12,500Published code charges only Not computableNo supported subtotal | $500 one time (pricing file, read 9 September 2026). 3, 6 or 12 month terms. Throughput Up to 100 message parts a second on its product page; 1,000 a second in its developer documentation (read 21 September 2026). Monthly from $1,000; its numbers page listed vanity at $1,500 on 9 September 2026. $500 one time (pricing file, read 9 September 2026). 3, 6 or 12 month terms. Throughput Up to 100 message parts a second on its product page; 1,000 a second in its developer documentation (read 21 September 2026). Monthly from $1,000; its numbers page listed vanity at $1,500 on 9 September 2026. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unreconciled source-price differences.
|
| MessageMedia | $1,000 | $1,000 $1,500 | $13,000Published code charges only $19,000Published code charges only | One-time carrier setup fee. Approval 8 to 12 weeks. One-time carrier setup fee. Approval 8 to 12 weeks. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated.
|
| Textedly | $1,000 | $1,000 $1,500 | $13,000Published code charges only $19,000Published code charges only | Billed quarterly. Approval 8 to 12 weeks. Throughput 100 texts a second. Billed quarterly. Approval 8 to 12 weeks. Throughput 100 texts a second. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated.
|
| SimpleTexting | $2,500 | from $1,000 from $1,500 | from $14,500Published code charges only from $20,500Published code charges only | Approval 6 to 8 weeks (read 9 September 2026). Monthly figures are "from" prices; texting plans from $29 a month on top. Approval 6 to 8 weeks (read 9 September 2026). Monthly figures are "from" prices; texting plans from $29 a month on top. Required plan charges excluded. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Required plan charges. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Required plan charges.
|
| Sinch | $1 | $500 $1,000 | $6,001Any applicable management fee excluded $12,001Any applicable management fee excluded | Throughput 500 messages a second (Sinch blog, read 21 September 2026). Any applicable Sinch Lease Management Fee has an unstated amount. Throughput 500 messages a second (Sinch blog, read 21 September 2026). Any applicable Sinch Lease Management Fee has an unstated amount. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Any applicable lease management fee, amount unstated. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Any applicable lease management fee, amount unstated.
|
| Bandwidth | Not published | $500 $1,000 | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | Carrier setup: T-Mobile $500 a code (new codes, migrations, amendments); Verizon $500 a code (migrations). The lease is paid to the Short Code Registry directly. The monthly figures are the registry lease. Carrier setup: T-Mobile $500 a code (new codes, migrations, amendments); Verizon $500 a code (migrations). The lease is paid to the Short Code Registry directly. The monthly figures are the registry lease. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Conditional carrier setup charges. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Conditional carrier setup charges.
|
| ClickSend | $1,035.59 | Not stated for this code type Not stated for this code type Published monthly reference: $1,035.59. Code type unspecified. | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | Read 21 September 2026 (was $1,042.99 a month on 8 September). Read 21 September 2026 (was $1,042.99 a month on 8 September). Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unpublished monthly charge for selected code type; Published monthly charge has no assigned random or vanity code type. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unpublished monthly charge for selected code type; Published monthly charge has no assigned random or vanity code type.
|
| Infobip | Not published | $500 $1,000 | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | Carrier setup: T-Mobile $500 a new or migrated code or amended program; Verizon $500 a migrated code. Registry lease passed through. Infobip's own short code fee on top is not published. Carrier setup: T-Mobile $500 a new or migrated code or amended program; Verizon $500 a migrated code. Registry lease passed through. Infobip's own short code fee on top is not published. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Conditional carrier setup charges; Unpublished provider short code charge. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Conditional carrier setup charges; Unpublished provider short code charge.
|
| Kudosity (formerly BurstSMS) | from $1,000 | Not stated for this code type Not stated for this code type Published monthly reference: from $750. Code type unspecified. | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | From $1,000. Approval 3 to 4 months (read 9 September 2026). Both figures are "from" prices. From $1,000. Approval 3 to 4 months (read 9 September 2026). Both figures are "from" prices. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unpublished monthly charge for selected code type; Published monthly charge has no assigned random or vanity code type. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unpublished monthly charge for selected code type; Published monthly charge has no assigned random or vanity code type.
|
| Postscript | Not published | Not stated for this code type Not stated for this code type Published monthly reference: $750. Code type unspecified. | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | Not published. Approval About 4 to 7 weeks with a compliance audit (help center, read 9 September 2026). Postscript says the $750 is the carriers' fee passed through without markup. Not published. Approval About 4 to 7 weeks with a compliance audit (help center, read 9 September 2026). Postscript says the $750 is the carriers' fee passed through without markup. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Unpublished monthly charge for selected code type; Published monthly charge has no assigned random or vanity code type. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Unpublished monthly charge for selected code type; Published monthly charge has no assigned random or vanity code type.
|
| Salesmsg entry plan, $25 a month for 500 credits; Salesmsg says credits start at 4 cents on higher plans | Not published | Not stated for this code type Not stated for this code type | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | $3,000 to $4,500 a quarter, or $11,000 a year. Approval 8 to 12 weeks on average. Premium plans only; Salesmsg applies to Twilio for the code. $3,000 to $4,500 a quarter, or $11,000 a year. Approval 8 to 12 weeks on average. Premium plans only; Salesmsg applies to Twilio for the code. Published annual hosting: $11,000. Code type unspecified; excluded from either subtotal. Required plan charges excluded. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Required plan charges; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Unpublished monthly charge for selected code type; Annual hosting price has no assigned random or vanity code type. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Required plan charges; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Unpublished monthly charge for selected code type; Annual hosting price has no assigned random or vanity code type.
|
| SlickText | Not published | $500 $1,000 | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | A one-time carrier setup fee, amount not stated. Approval 4 to 5 weeks. Throughput 500 or more messages a second. minimum plan price of $319 per month unless otherwise noted. A one-time carrier setup fee, amount not stated. Approval 4 to 5 weeks. Throughput 500 or more messages a second. minimum plan price of $319 per month unless otherwise noted. Required plan charges excluded. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Required plan charges; Unknown or conflicting setup charge. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Required plan charges; Unknown or conflicting setup charge.
|
| TrueDialog | Source conflict | $799 $1,499 Source-price conflict; subtotal withheld. Source-price conflict; subtotal withheld. | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | Its pricing FAQ says it charges no setup fee; its terms say it charges a one-time setup fee (both read 9 September 2026). Its carrier fee page listed $800 and $1,500 a month on 9 September 2026. Its pricing FAQ says it charges no setup fee; its terms say it charges a one-time setup fee (both read 9 September 2026). Its carrier fee page listed $800 and $1,500 a month on 9 September 2026. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Unreconciled source-price differences. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unknown or conflicting setup charge; Unreconciled source-price differences.
|
| Twilio | Not published | $1,000 $1,500 | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | Required, amount not stated for SMS short codes ($500 for MMS-enabled codes). Billed quarterly. Approval 8 to 12 weeks (read 9 September 2026). Required, amount not stated for SMS short codes ($500 for MMS-enabled codes). Billed quarterly. Approval 8 to 12 weeks (read 9 September 2026). Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unknown or conflicting setup charge. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unknown or conflicting setup charge.
|
| Vonage | Not published | $1,000 $1,500 | Not computableNo supported subtotal Not computableNo supported subtotal | Not stated. Billed quarterly, 3 month minimum, bought through sales. Read 9 September 2026; the page draws these prices in the browser. Not stated. Billed quarterly, 3 month minimum, bought through sales. Read 9 September 2026; the page draws these prices in the browser. Registry lease inclusion not stated; a separately billed lease is excluded. Sources and excluded costsExcluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unknown or conflicting setup charge. Excluded: Messaging usage; Carrier message fees; Taxes; Registry lease if billed separately; inclusion not stated; Unknown or conflicting setup charge.
|
Random codes: known code-charge subtotals first, then subtotals with an unknown code fee, then rows without a supported subtotal. Each subtotal excludes the costs listed in its row.
Publish no short code price on the pages read: Attentive, Bird (formerly MessageBird), Clickatell, Community, Emotive, EZ Texting, Klaviyo, Omnisend, Sendlane, Skipio, SMSGlobal, Textline, Trumpia. Do not offer short codes: Birdeye, BulkSMS, Heymarket, Messente, Notifyre, Podium, Text Request, Weave, YepText.
What an SMS short code is
An SMS short code is a 5 or 6 digit number that sends and receives texts at high volume. A business does not buy a code. It leases one from the U.S. Short Code Registry, administered by CTIA, for 3, 6 or 12 months, and the registry states the entire lease payment is due before the code can be activated. The registry also states fees are non-refundable.
What a short code costs
The registry lease is the floor. A random code, assigned by the system, costs $500 a month. A code you choose costs $1,000 a month; the registry calls these "select" and this page says vanity. Providers add setup and hosting fees, dated September 28, 2026. Sinch charges $1 for setup and $500 a month plus any applicable lease management fee, whose amount it does not state. Twilio charges $1,000 a month random and $1,500 vanity, billed quarterly, plus an unstated setup fee. TrueDialog charges $799 a month and $1,499 vanity; its pricing FAQ says no setup fee while its terms describe a one-time setup fee, both read September 9, 2026. Postscript passes through $750 a month, which it says is the carriers' fee without markup. Bandwidth and Infobip pass the registry lease through and list carrier setup fees of $500 a code. Plivo's published setup and monthly code charges give a $7,500 first-year subtotal for a random code, excluding its required Enterprise plan, any separately billed registry lease, messaging charges, carrier message fees and taxes; the Plivo review covers its other prices.
Who sells short codes
SMS Comparison sets the US short code registry lease beside what 16 SMS providers charge to host one, dated. In the dated comparison, 16 providers publish a US short code price, 13 publish none, and 9 do not offer short codes. Skipio and Sendlane, read September 28, 2026, do not say clearly whether they offer one. Approval adds time: the registry says carrier approval takes two to four weeks after the lease, and SlickText quotes 4 to 5 weeks while Kudosity quotes 3 to 4 months. Carriers apply CTIA's rules, which our SMS compliance page sets out.
SMS short code questions
How long does short code approval take?
The registry says carrier approval takes two to four weeks after the lease. Providers quote longer: SlickText 4 to 5 weeks, Plivo and SimpleTexting 6 to 8 weeks, Twilio, Textedly, Sinch Engage and Salesmsg 8 to 12 weeks, Kudosity 3 to 4 months.
How many messages a second can a short code send?
Providers state 100 messages a second for Plivo and Textedly, 500 for Sinch, and 500 or more for SlickText. Telnyx states up to 100 on its product page and 1,000 in its developer documentation.
Do shared short codes still exist?
Textedly's short code page says every mobile carrier ended service for shared short codes, so a business now leases its own code.
Short code or 10DLC?
The registry lease starts at $500 a month, read September 28, 2026, and providers state throughput of 100 to 500 or more messages a second. 10DLC registration is covered on its own page.
Random or vanity code?
A random code costs $500 a month and a vanity code $1,000 at the registry, read September 28, 2026. The registry calls a vanity code a "select" code, one you choose yourself.
