HIPAA compliant texting
HIPAA compliant texting is texting covered by a signed Business Associate Agreement (BAA). Of the 39 providers this site scores, 14 publish on their own sites, read September 28, 2026, that they sign a BAA. Plivo ties its BAA to an Enterprise plan starting at $1,000 a month.
Reader supported. We may earn a commission when you sign up through a link on this page, and it never changes a score. How we make money.
SMS providers and the Business Associate Agreement
| Provider | What its site publishes | Plan or condition | A month at your volume |
|---|---|---|---|
| SinchScore 8.00 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Product-level BAAs as an addendum to the standard Terms of Service Source, read 28 September 2026 | Product level; no plan tier named | $15.60 in message charges |
| TwilioScore 7.42 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Customers subject to HIPAA must execute Twilio's Business Associate Addendum to the Terms of Service Source, read 28 September 2026 | Security Edition or Enterprise Edition required | $16.60 in message charges |
| InfobipScore 7.25 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Will sign a BAA for eligible services Source, read 28 September 2026 | Eligible services; no plan tier named | $16.36 in message charges |
| BandwidthScore 6.83 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Signs a BAA with covered entities using its messaging API and programmable voice API Source, read 28 September 2026 | Covered entities serving healthcare; via account manager or sales; no plan tier | $12 in message charges |
| SlickTextScore 6.67 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Standard BAA for eligible customers Source, read 28 September 2026 | 'Eligible customers'; no plan tier named | $87.40 on the 2,000 credits plan |
| VonageScore 6.58 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Messages API (SMS/MMS) covered by the Vonage BAA for U.S. traffic Source, read 28 September 2026 | Via account manager; U.S. traffic only; dedicated numbers designated for HIPAA messaging | $17.20 in message charges |
| PlivoScore 6.25$1,000 a month minimum (Enterprise plan) | Publishes that it signs a BAA BAA listed as an Enterprise plan compliance feature Source, read 28 September 2026 | Enterprise only | $15.40 in message charges |
| Text RequestScore 6.25 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Will sign a BAA on request Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | Not priced |
| PodiumScore 5.92 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Covered-entity clients agree to Podium's published BAA, incorporated into the Terms of Service Source, read 28 September 2026 | Any Podium client whose services may involve PHI; no plan tier named | Not priced |
| AvochatoScore 5.83 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Customer reviews and completes Avochato's BAA as an onboarding step Source, read 28 September 2026 | No plan named; sales conversation then 'pick the best plan' | Not priced |
| SalesmsgScore 5.83entry plan, $25 a month for 500 credits; Salesmsg says credits start at 4 cents on higher plans | Publishes that it signs a BAA Executes a BAA with healthcare customers Source, read 28 September 2026 | Paid add-on available on every plan; enabled by support after the BAA is signed | $100 in message charges |
| TextlineScore 5.75 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Provides a BAA via Hello Sign after choosing a HIPAA plan Source, read 28 September 2026 | HIPAA Essentials or HIPAA Pro plan (separate HIPAA plans with their own base fees) | Not priced |
| BirdeyeScore 4.92 | Publishes that it signs a BAA BAA available on request Source, read 28 September 2026 | On request; no plan tier named | Not priced |
| WeaveScore 4.83 | Publishes that it signs a BAA Publishes its Business Associate Addendum, which supplements the Terms of Service Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | Not priced |
| Kudosity (formerly BurstSMS)Score 8.17 | Not checked | Not stated | $35 pay as you go, number and carrier fees in |
| TelnyxScore 8.08 | No BAA on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | $8 in message charges |
| ClickSendScore 7.58 | No BAA on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | $70.37 pay as you go, number and carrier fees in |
| SMSGlobalScore 6.67 | Not checked | Not stated | $38 in message charges |
| MessageMediaScore 6.58 | No BAA on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | Not priced |
| TrueDialogScore 6.58 | Says it is HIPAA compliant; no BAA sentence on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | $15.80 in message charges |
| NotifyreScore 6.50 | Not checked | Not stated | $56.40 pay as you go, number and carrier fees in |
| SimpleTextingScore 6.42 | Not checked Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | $84 on the 2,000 texts plan |
| ClickatellScore 5.83 | Not checked | Not stated | $15.02 in message charges |
| Bird (formerly MessageBird)Score 5.67 | Not checked | Not stated | $7 in message charges |
| EZ TextingScore 5.67 | No BAA on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | $90 on the Launch plan, 500 credits |
| TrumpiaScore 5.67 | No BAA on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | $75 on the Standard plan, 2,000 credits |
| MessenteScore 5.58 | Says it is HIPAA compliant; no BAA sentence on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | Not priced |
| OmnisendScore 5.58 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| HeymarketScore 5.50 | Says it is HIPAA compliant; no BAA sentence on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | HIPAA enabled on Pro and Enterprise only | Not priced |
| TextedlyScore 5.42 | No BAA on the pages read Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | $87 on the Plus plan, 2,000 credits |
| BulkSMSScore 5.17 | Not checked | Not stated | $70 in message charges |
| PostscriptScore 5.08 | Not checked Source, read 28 September 2026 | Not stated | $55.60 on the Starter |
| EmotiveScore 5.00 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| KlaviyoScore 4.58 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| AttentiveScore 4.42 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| SendlaneScore 4.00 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| YepTextScore 3.83 | Not checked | Not stated | $79 on the The Champ plan, 2,000 credits |
| CommunityScore 3.75 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| SkipioScore 3.17 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
Showing the 14 providers whose own site publishes it, highest score first.
What HIPAA asks of a texting provider
45 CFR 164.502(e)(1)(i), on eCFR, read September 28, 2026, states: "A covered entity may disclose protected health information to a business associate and may allow a business associate to create, receive, maintain, or transmit protected health information on its behalf, if the covered entity obtains satisfactory assurance that the business associate will appropriately safeguard the information." The satisfactory assurance is the written agreement called the business associate agreement. 45 CFR 160.103 lists among business associates any "other person that provides data transmission services with respect to protected health information to a covered entity and that requires access on a routine basis to such protected health information."
Where a BAA comes with a condition
A BAA sometimes carries a condition, and the condition changes the price. Twilio states on its own site, read September 28, 2026, that the BAA is limited to Security Edition or Enterprise Edition customers, and that page does not publish the edition prices. Textline provides the BAA after you pick a HIPAA plan, and its help center lists HIPAA Essentials at $249 a month and HIPAA Pro at $569 a month on month-to-month billing, read September 28, 2026. Salesmsg sells HIPAA compliance as a $300 a month add-on and states it executes a BAA with healthcare customers. Plivo lists "Compliance - BAA, HIPAA & SSO" under its Enterprise plan, which starts at $1,000 a month. Vonage covers SMS and MMS under its BAA for U.S. traffic, arranged through an account manager. Bandwidth enters a BAA with covered entities using its messaging API and programmable voice API. Text Request signs one on request.
Three providers say they are HIPAA compliant with no BAA sentence found on the pages read September 28, 2026: Heymarket, which limits HIPAA to Pro and Enterprise plans, Pro at $199 per user a month billed annually, TrueDialog, and Messente. Six published no BAA on the pages read: Telnyx, EZ Texting, Textedly, Trumpia, ClickSend, and Sinch Engage. Telnyx's help article states: "In general, Telnyx's services fall within this conduit exception under HIPAA, and therefore there is no need for Telnyx to sign a BAA." EZ Texting's healthcare page states that SMS "is not inherently HIPAA compliant". The table marks each row so you can see the difference between a published BAA and a compliance claim.
How to read the table
The table below lists all 39 scored providers with three fields: whether the provider publishes a BAA, the plan or condition attached, and the source with its read date. The month column shows the cheapest published plan at your sending volume, or message charges alone for a provider billed per message. For scheduling and outreach without PHI, our text message reminders page compares reminder services.
HIPAA compliant texting questions
Is SMS HIPAA compliant?
HIPAA compliance rests on the arrangement between covered entity and provider, the BAA the regulation calls satisfactory assurance. EZ Texting's healthcare page states SMS "is not inherently HIPAA compliant". Of 39 scored providers, 14 publish one.
What is the conduit exception?
Telnyx's help article, read September 28, 2026, states: "In general, Telnyx's services fall within this conduit exception under HIPAA, and therefore there is no need for Telnyx to sign a BAA." The regulation quote is in the section above.
Does Twilio sign a BAA?
Yes. Twilio's site, read September 28, 2026, states the BAA is limited to Security Edition or Enterprise Edition customers. That page does not publish the edition prices.
Which providers claim HIPAA compliance without a published BAA?
Heymarket, TrueDialog and Messente, on the pages read September 28, 2026. Heymarket limits HIPAA to Pro and Enterprise plans, Pro at $199 per user a month billed annually.
How much does HIPAA texting cost?
Published figures, read September 28, 2026: Textline at $249 or $569 a month, Salesmsg as a $300 a month add-on, and Plivo from its $1,000 a month Enterprise plan. Twilio does not publish its edition prices on the page read.
