SMS keywords: which providers offer text to join, and the STOP and HELP rules
An SMS keyword is a word a person texts to a business's number to join a list, get a reply or opt out. Of the 45 SMS providers this site scores, 17 publish text-to-join keywords on their own pages, read September 28, 2026. Twelve publish what keywords cost.
Reader supported. We may earn a commission when you sign up through a link on this page, and it never changes a score. How we make money.
SMS providers that publish text-to-join keywords
| Provider | What its site publishes | Keyword kind, price and number types | A month at your volume |
|---|---|---|---|
| TelnyxScore 8.08 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Custom opt-in and opt-out keywords with auto-responses can be configured. Source, read 9 September 2026 | No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | $8 in message charges |
| SlickTextScore 6.67 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Text-to-join keywords: a person texts your keyword to your number or short code and is added to your list. Several keywords per account. Source, read 28 September 2026 | No keyword price published. Number types: A phone number or a short code (SlickText does not say which phone number types). | $87.40 on the 2,000 credits plan |
| SimpleTextingScore 6.42 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Unlimited text-to-join keywords are in the plan feature list. Source, read 28 September 2026 | Price: Included, unlimited. Number types not stated. | $84 on the 2,000 texts plan |
| Text RequestScore 6.25 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Keywords texted to your business number either send a preset reply or add the texter to a subscriber group, with an optional subscription confirmation. Source, read 28 September 2026 | No keyword price published. Number types: Your business phone number (type not stated). | Not priced |
| SalesmsgScore 5.83entry plan, $25 a month for 500 credits; Salesmsg says credits start at 4 cents on higher plans | Publishes text-to-join keywords Text-to-join keywords, unlimited and free; each keyword has an auto-reply, a phone number and a tag. Source, read 28 September 2026 | Price: Free, unlimited. Number types: The phone number you attach to the keyword (type not stated). | $100 in message charges |
| Mobile Text AlertsScore 5.75 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Opt-in keywords: 2 on the free trial, unlimited from the Core plans up. Source, read 28 September 2026 | Price: Included: 2 keywords on the free trial; unlimited on Core plans ($36 a month billed annually) and above. Number types not stated. | $74 on the 2,000 messages plan |
| TextlineScore 5.75 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Keyword automation: customers text a keyword such as SUBSCRIBE to your business number to join a list; a follow-up can ask for YES to confirm. Source, read 28 September 2026 | No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | Not priced |
| EZ TextingScore 5.67 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Keywords are an opt-in tool on every plan, with unlimited keywords. Source, read 28 September 2026 | Price: Included on every plan, unlimited. Number types not stated. | $90 on the Launch plan, 500 credits |
| OmnisendScore 5.58 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Text-to-Join: JOIN, SUBSCRIBE or START texted to your Omnisend toll-free number subscribes the person; up to three custom keywords for US and Canada. Source, read 28 September 2026 | Price: No SMS credits are used when someone subscribes; credits are needed only to send. Number types: Toll-free number (required). | Not priced |
| HeymarketScore 5.50 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Opt-in can be managed with keywords, among other methods. Source, read 9 September 2026 | No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | Not priced |
| CallHubScore 5.42 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Text-to-join: supporters opt in to your list by texting a keyword. Source, read 28 September 2026 | No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | $38 in message charges |
| TextedlyScore 5.42 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Text-to-join keywords on every plan. The keyword allowance rises with the plan tier; the free account includes one custom keyword. Source, read 28 September 2026 | Price: Included in the monthly plan; higher tiers raise the keyword limit. Per-plan keyword counts are not in the page text. Number types not stated. | $87 on the Plus plan, 2,000 credits |
| PostscriptScore 5.08 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Opt-in keywords: 2 on Starter, unlimited from Growth up. Source, read 28 September 2026 | Price: Included: 2 on Starter ($0 a month, $49 minimum spend); unlimited on Growth ($100 a month) and above. Number types not stated. | $55.60 on the Starter |
| KlaviyoScore 4.58 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Subscribe keywords, up to 500, each adding the texter to a chosen list, single or double opt-in. Free to create. Source, read 28 September 2026 | Price: Free to create, change and remove. Number types not stated. | Not priced |
| AttentiveScore 4.42 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Text-to-Join campaigns: subscribers text a keyword to your short code or toll-free number to opt in, and get a confirmation text. Source, read 28 September 2026 | No keyword price published. Number types: Short code or toll-free number. | Not priced |
| SendlaneScore 4.00 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Opt-in keywords texted to your toll-free number subscribe the person; as many keywords as you need. Source, read 28 September 2026 | No keyword price published. Number types: Toll-free number. | Not priced |
| YepTextScore 3.83 | Publishes text-to-join keywords Keywords (Yepwords) run on YepText's own shared short code; each extra Yepword costs $8 a month. Source, read 22 September 2026 | Price: $8 a month per extra Yepword; sign-ups are free. How many Yepwords a plan includes is not restated here. Number types: YepText's shared short code (no dedicated short code is sold). | $79 on the The Champ plan, 2,000 credits |
| Kudosity (formerly BurstSMS)Score 8.17 | No keywords on the pages read | Not stated | $35 pay as you go, number and carrier fees in |
| SinchScore 8.00 | Not checked | Not stated | $15.60 in message charges |
| ClickSendScore 7.58 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Inbound rules on a dedicated number: a CREATE_CONTACT rule adds the texter to a contact list when they text a keyword. Unlimited rules, up to 10 fire per message. Source, read 28 September 2026 | inbound rules. No keyword price published. Number types: A dedicated number (ClickSend does not say which types on this page). | $70.37 pay as you go, number and carrier fees in |
| TwilioScore 7.42 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Advanced Opt-Out lets you set opt-in keywords (START and UNSTOP are reserved) that re-subscribe someone who had opted out; it applies to long codes, short codes and toll-free numbers in a Messaging Service. For 10DLC registration, keyword opt-in is accepted if you list the keywords and the opt-in reply. Source, read 28 September 2026 | resubscribe keywords (START, UNSTOP). No keyword price published. Number types: Long codes, short codes and toll-free numbers in the Messaging Service sender pool; US toll-free always opts in a user who replies START or UNSTOP. | $16.60 in message charges |
| InfobipScore 7.25 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Keywords on a number route matching inbound messages to an action (webhook, email, Conversations); several keywords per number. Sign-up by keyword is not described. Source, read 28 September 2026 | inbound routing. No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | $16.36 in message charges |
| TextmagicScore 6.92 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Keyword-based auto-replies, unlimited. The pricing page does not describe text-to-join sign-up by keyword. Source, read 28 September 2026 | auto-reply keywords. Price: Included, unlimited. Number types not stated. | $98 in message charges |
| BandwidthScore 6.83 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Bandwidth says it gives no opt-in or opt-out keyword support on long codes and short codes; on toll-free, opt-in and opt-out commands are enforced at the network layer, but keeping the lists is the customer's job. Source, read 9 September 2026 | no keyword support. No keyword price published. Number types: Toll-free only (network-layer enforcement); none on long codes or short codes. | $12 in message charges |
| SMSGlobalScore 6.67 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only "Keyword Responses" is listed in the SMS toolkit; sign-up by keyword is not described. Source, read 28 September 2026 | auto-reply keywords. No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | $38 in message charges |
| MessageMediaScore 6.58 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| TrueDialogScore 6.58 | No keywords on the pages read | Not stated | $15.80 in message charges |
| VonageScore 6.58 | Not checked | Not stated | $17.20 in message charges |
| NotifyreScore 6.50 | Not checked | Not stated | $56.40 pay as you go, number and carrier fees in |
| PlivoScore 6.25$1,000 a month minimum (Enterprise plan) | Not checked | Not stated | $15.40 in message charges |
| Text-Em-AllScore 6.17 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Keyword replies: automated responses triggered by a keyword in an incoming text. Sign-up by keyword is not described on the page. Source, read 28 September 2026 | auto-reply keywords. No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | $170 in message charges |
| PodiumScore 5.92 | No keywords on the pages read | Not stated | Not priced |
| AvochatoScore 5.83 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| ClickatellScore 5.83 | Not checked | Not stated | $15.02 in message charges |
| Bird (formerly MessageBird)Score 5.67 | Not checked | Not stated | $7 in message charges |
| TrumpiaScore 5.67 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Unlimited keywords are listed on the plans; the pricing page does not describe what a keyword does. Source, read 28 September 2026 | keywords, use not described. Price: Included, unlimited. Number types not stated. | $75 on the Standard plan, 2,000 credits |
| MessenteScore 5.58 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| BulkSMSScore 5.17 | Not checked | Not stated | $70 in message charges |
| EmotiveScore 5.00 | No keywords on the pages read | Not stated | Not priced |
| BirdeyeScore 4.92 | No keywords on the pages read | Not stated | Not priced |
| TextUsScore 4.83 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Keywords trigger an auto-response when the exact keyword is texted; opt-in and opt-out words (STOP, HELP, START and others) cannot be used as keywords. Source, read 28 September 2026 | auto-reply keywords. No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | $299 on the Pro plan, 5,000 credits |
| WeaveScore 4.83 | Not checked | Not stated | Not priced |
| TextlaScore 4.33 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only "Keywords" is a row in the plan comparison; which plans include it, and what it does, is not in the page text. Source, read 28 September 2026 | keywords, use not described. No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | $45 on the Starter |
| CommunityScore 3.75 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Subcommunity keywords: anyone who texts a keyword is added to that Subcommunity (segment). Up to 15 active keywords per Subcommunity, up to 100 Subcommunities. Source, read 28 September 2026 | keywords that add to a segment. No keyword price published. Number types not stated. | Not priced |
| SkipioScore 3.17 | Publishes keywords for replies or routing only Unlimited keywords on every plan; the pricing page does not describe what a keyword does. Source, read 28 September 2026 | keywords, use not described. Price: Included, unlimited, on every plan (from Essential at $199 a month). Number types not stated. | Not priced |
Showing the 17 providers whose own site publishes it, highest score first.
What an SMS keyword is
An SMS keyword is a word a person texts to a business's number. The business's system reads the word and does something: it adds the sender to a list, sends an automatic reply, or removes the sender from a list. Text to join is the common case. A person texts a word such as JOIN to a number, and the business adds that person to its subscriber list. Not every keyword adds anyone. Some keywords only trigger an automatic reply, and some only route inbound messages to a person or a rule. The 17 providers below publish text-to-join keywords on their own pages, read September 28, 2026.
STOP, HELP and the other standard keywords
Three kinds of source publish rules on the standard keywords. The FCC rule at 47 CFR 64.1200 is law: a reply of stop, quit, end, revoke, opt out, cancel or unsubscribe is a reasonable way to revoke consent, other words count if a reasonable person would read them as revocation, and the sender honors it within ten business days. CTIA publishes industry guidance: act on STOP and on end, unsubscribe, cancel, quit and plain-language requests, whatever the case or punctuation, send one final opt-out confirmation, and reply to HELP with the program name and how to contact the sender. The T-Mobile Code of Conduct is a carrier's code: programs respond to at least STOP, END, CANCEL, UNSUBSCRIBE and QUIT, and the keywords are not case sensitive. T-Mobile also names texting an advertising keyword as one of its examples of opt-in.
| Rule | What the source says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| STOP and synonyms | A reply of stop, quit, end, revoke, opt out, cancel or unsubscribe is a per se reasonable revocation of consent; other words count if a reasonable person would read them as revocation; honor within ten business days. | FCCLaw |
| STOP and synonyms | Standard STOP wording; also act on stop, end, unsubscribe, cancel, quit and plain-language requests, whatever the case or punctuation; one final opt-out confirmation. | CTIAIndustry guidance |
| STOP and synonyms, short codes | Opt-out information in the call-to-action, terms and opt-in confirmation; STOP wording plus plain-language variants. | CTIAIndustry guidance |
| HELP, short codes | At minimum, reply to HELP with the program name and how to contact the sender, whether or not the person is subscribed. | CTIAIndustry guidance |
| HELP in the opt-in confirmation | The opt-in confirmation should give customer care contact information, for example HELP command instructions. | CTIAIndustry guidance |
| STOP and synonyms | Programs must respond to at least STOP, END, CANCEL, UNSUBSCRIBE and QUIT with an opt-out message and opt the user out; extra text, punctuation or capitalization must not break it. | T-Mobile USA, Inc.Carrier's code |
| STOP matching | The universal STOP keywords are not case sensitive; STOP inside a sentence should also be honored; the sender decides when a reply is really a help request. | T-Mobile USA, Inc.Carrier's code |
| Network STOP layer | T-Mobile suggests aggregators enforce STOP at the network level across all senders; the consumer can opt back in through the call-to-action. | T-Mobile USA, Inc.Carrier's code |
| STOP and HELP in messages | End messages with the STOP opt-out keyword and the HELP keyword; T-Mobile recommends "Reply STOP to unsubscribe" on the first message and at least every fifth message or monthly. | T-Mobile USA, Inc.Carrier's code |
| Keyword as an opt-in method | Texting an advertising keyword is one of T-Mobile's examples of opt-in, and "SMS keyword" is an accepted consent-record medium. | T-Mobile USA, Inc.Carrier's code |
| Opt-in, opt-out and HELP keyword replies in 10DLC vetting | For 10DLC vetting: opt-out reply must carry the brand name and confirm no further messages; HELP reply must carry the brand name and an email, phone number or website. | BandwidthProvider documentation |
| Keyword opt-in reply in 10DLC vetting | If consumers can opt in by texting a keyword, the reply should give the brand name, confirm enrollment in a recurring campaign, say how to get help and how to opt out. | BandwidthProvider documentation |
What the providers publish about keywords
Text to join is one published kind. Textmagic, Text-Em-All, TextUs and SMSGlobal publish keywords that only trigger an automatic reply, which does not add anyone to a list. Infobip and ClickSend publish inbound routing or rules, and Community publishes keywords that add a contact to a segment. On prices, EZ Texting and SimpleTexting publish keywords as included and unlimited; Klaviyo says keywords are free to create, change and remove; Postscript includes 2 on Starter and unlimited from Growth; YepText charges $8 a month per extra Yepword. Few providers name number types: Attentive runs text-to-join on a short code or toll-free number, Omnisend and Sendlane on a toll-free number, and YepText on its own shared SMS short code. Bandwidth says it gives no opt-in or opt-out keyword support on long codes or short codes. The full scores sit in the comparison of SMS marketing platforms.
SMS keyword questions
How much do SMS keywords cost?
It depends on the provider. EZ Texting, SimpleTexting, Trumpia, Skipio, Textmagic and Salesmsg publish keywords as included and unlimited, read September 28, 2026. Postscript includes 2 on Starter, and YepText charges $8 a month per extra Yepword.
Which keywords must a business respond to?
The FCC rule at 47 CFR 64.1200 names stop, quit, end, revoke, opt out, cancel and unsubscribe as reasonable revocations, honored within ten business days. CTIA says a HELP reply gives the program name and how to contact the sender.
Can a keyword work on a 10DLC number?
Few providers say. Attentive runs text-to-join on a short code or toll-free number, Omnisend and Sendlane on a toll-free number, and YepText on its own shared short code. Bandwidth says it gives no keyword opt-in or opt-out support on long codes or short codes.
Is texting a keyword a valid opt-in?
T-Mobile's Code of Conduct names texting an advertising keyword as one of its examples of opt-in. Bandwidth's 10DLC vetting requires the opt-in reply to give the brand name, confirm enrollment in a recurring campaign, and say how to get help and opt out. See SMS opt-in.
